Skip to main content

STEPS - Tears on the Dancefloor Track-By-Track Review - Pop Legends Make a Stomping Comeback!


Back to save Pop music again are one of the UK's most loved British groups of the 90's, Steps are back with their fifth studio effort "Tears on the Dancefloor". The album was released on Friday 21st April through STEPS Music LLP, debuting at the top spot on the iTunes chart within one hour of its release.

It's Claire, Faye, Lisa, H and Lee's first album of brand new songs since the release of their 2000 "Buzz". How the world has gone nearly 17 years without brand new material from the group is quite baffling. The 10-track album contains disco club anthems and new energy that will keep you stomping all night!

1. Scared of the Dark

The lead single "Scared of the Dark" sounded like an instant hit as soon as the song premiered on BBC Radio 2 a day before the release of the track. On the day of release the track debuted at number one on the iTunes chart before peaking at number 37 on the Pop Charts and number 3 on the Indie Charts. When bands reunite it's make or break but Scared of the Dark served to be a great comeback single!

2. You Make Me Whole

Released ahead of the albums release last week, "You Make Me Whole" is a fun floor-filler with a burst of pop that will get dancing the night away.  It favours Calvin Harris and Rihanna's "We Found Love" which was an instant hit around the world and You Make Me Whole is definitely a contender to be a worldwide hit.

3. Story of a Heart

Apart from the lead single "Scared of the Dark", Story of a Heart has to be one of the stand out tracks for the album. Not only is it a cover, the song is written by Benny Andersson and Bjorn Ulvaeus from ABBA originally in 2009 from the Benny Andersson Band's album of the same name. Story of a Heart has become a fan favourite and is speculated to be the next single from the album, hopefully it will be chosen as the lyrics and melody are so catchy! 

4. Happy 

Happy is an undeniable banger that sounds like a most requested song when you go out on a night out. Eventhough the sad lyrics, it's still undeniably a floor filler anthem that would draw you to the dance floor.

5. No More Tears on the Dancefloor

This is the second cover on the album originally by Anders/Fahrenkrog written by Darren Hayes from Savage Garden. Lee shines out in the track as he sings a whole verse which is great to hear him on a track that sings a lead vocal! 

6. Firefly 

Firefly sounds like the Steps sound we know and love! Could it possibly achieve the same success as their previous hit singles if chosen as a single to support the album?

7. Space Between Us

This is the boys takeover track! Lee once again shines as he and H take the lead on this track with Claire, Faye and Lisa providing background vocals for them which is a great move for the band. The track is the least typical 'Steps sound' on the album but is a great change hopefully we will get to hear more of the boys singing lead on songs in the near future. 

8. Glitter & Gold

One of the most "Euro" songs on the album, which gives a gay-esque anthem that resonates well alongside the bands impressive back catalogue.

9. Neon Blue

Another fan favourite, Neon Blue offers a soft piano intro building up to a euphoric chorus and an uplifting message of unity as the band sings “all we need is me and you” sounding like an instant classic before the record closes with the powerful "I Will Love Again". Could they be paying homage to their hit single "Deeper Shade of Blue"? 

10. I Will Love Again

I Will Love Again is the third and final cover song on the album originally by Belgian singer Lara Fabian which sounds a little similar to Cher's "Believe". Claire delivers like the vocal powerhouse she is known to be as she storms through the catchy chorus. Maybe this could be the final single released from the album after they release a few more singles. (We hope!)

Verdit: 5/5

In an overall verdict the album is a glorious effort for their fifth studio album and has plenty of potential singles - Story of a Heart, No More Tears on the Dancefloor and I Will Love Again to name a few. 

To purchase the album on CD, Vinyl or Download click here.


Popular Posts

Wentworth Season 5 Finale "Hell Bent"

The finale of the Australian hit tv series Wentworth came to an end today in it's fifth season. The show was renewed for it's sixth season in early may and the cast and crew began shooting the season and is expected to premiere early 2018.  Throughout the season we saw murders, attempted murders, Maxine's departure, Doreen's parole, Liz's attempt at parole until it was turned upside down no thanks to Sonia and Detective Don Kaplan and not to mention the attempted murder of Joan "The Freak" Ferguson by the inmates in episode 11. 
Not to give much away for the season finale but here's a little teaser as to what-to-expect. - Joan regains her breathing back no thanks to vinegar tits as you saw at the end of episode 11. Joan is refused to be put in protection by Channing; Jake Stewart admits to Fletch he killed Ferguson's right hand man Neils Jasper; Franky and Allie attempt to leave Wentworth's Women Correctional Centre and Joan is in for an unwa…

Ariana Grande's One Love Manchester Concert Highlights & Performances

Tonight saw many of the biggest artists around the world - Justin Bieber, Take That, Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry, Little Mix, Miley Cyrus, Nial Horan, Coldplay and more joined forces with Ariana Grande's One Love Manchester benefit concert for those who were affected by the tragic even that happened just over two weeks ago at Grande's concert in Manchester. 

One of the biggest surprises of the concert was when Liam Gallagher took the stage performing hits from group (Oasis) and his latest track "Wall of Glass". Gallagher was also joined on stage by Coldplay's Chris Martin while singing "Live Forever" dedicating to the victims of the tragic event.

Grande announced during the live concert to the crowd of 50,000 and viewers around the world she had changed the set list completely after meeting 15 year old Olivia Campbell's mother. "I had the pleasure of meeting Olivia's mommy a few days ago as soon as I met her I started crying and gave her…

JoJo Drops New Track "Wonder Woman"

Can you believe in October it will be one year since Joanna "JoJo" Levesque released her long awaited third studio album "Mad Love."?!  The FAB. singer surprisingly shared a new song today via SoundCloud and YouTube titled "Wonder Woman". Written by Levesque, Nikki Flores and Joshua "Igloo" Monroy, the sultry track brings back the old school R&B flavour that the music industry is missing right about now and who else better than JoJo is the perfect contender to do it!
"And you know I really miss your body/Ain't nobody getting it like you got it/You got it/You got it good boy" she sings.
As she finished her Mad Love Tour in North America at the end of May, the singer was seen filming an unknown music video, which from the cover art that's been released so far is a camera still which is believed to belong from the video for Wonder Woman. 
Check out the song below leave your comments what you think below.